Surprised #diglitclass

5077025370_875ca3b378_z
Photo CC-By Jim Swenson

I’ll be honest, when I first got started in my Literacy in the Digital Age class, I really didn’t know what I was getting myself into.  I knew that I needed to take it because it was a requirement for my education major, but that was all I knew.  As I started reading the syllabus, I was seriously concerned that I wasn’t going to have enough time to dedicate to it.  I was already behind because I was a late add, so I didn’t know if I would have enough time to get caught up.  Luckily, my instructor offered to give me an extension to get caught up, so I stayed in the class and have been going strong since.

I’ll be the first to admit, before this course, I was not really much into any sort of social media, with the exception of Facebook. I had a personal Twitter account, but hadn’t ever used it.  Well, that changed for me really quickly with this class.  After reading the syllabus, I had hoped to learn more about making myself more familiar with the digital world.  So far, I would definitely have to say that this course has exceeded my expectations in that regard.  I knew we would be working with Twitter and blogs, but I had no idea all the tech learning we would be doing.  Sure, I had used hyperlinks at work before, but I had never embedded Tweets, used Bitly, or even heard of TED Talks before (which I really like, by the way).

Speaking of TED Talks, my favorite module so far was Module 3, which focused a lot on TED talks.  They just cover such a wide variety of topics, but in a short format that is easy to understand.  I fully intend to use TED Talks as a teaching tool.

The most challenging module for me was actually Module 1.  I don’t know how it is for most people, but for me, getting started (with anything) is the hardest part.  This is especially true when I’m doing something new.  Once I got started, and got everything situated and into a routine, things have been much easier.

While this class is a current requirement for all teaching majors, I really think it should be a requirement for all students.  With the importance of technology in our world, it only makes sense that all students should be digitally literate.  Even if they don’t end up using it on a daily basis, at least they will have a foundation for understanding what it all means when they do use it.

For the second half of the semester, I am really hoping that I learn some more new tools and techniques to incorporate into my future teaching.  With looking at being a future PE teacher, I will have to find some more creative ways to incorporate some of these methods. But I have already been brainstorming ways to do this, and I definitely think it will be possible.

 

Leave a Reply

